Upcoming Events


March 17-18, 2017
Carlos Museum Reception Hall

Details forthcoming

Mission Statement and News

MISSION: The Art History Department studies the forms, functions, meanings, and theoretical underpinnings of the visual arts...continued


Rebecca Stone - 
Exhibition showcases 'Indigenous Beauty' of Native American art

Bonna Wescoat - Grants support Emory's work on Greek islands

Walter Melion is the designated recipient of the 2016 Distinguished Scholar Award from the American Catholic Historical Association.

Bonna Wescoat has been awarded a Samuel Candler Dobbs Chair as Professor of Art History at Emory.

Susan Elizabeth Gagliardi's monograph Senufo Unbound has been published (5 Continents Editions, 2015).

Ashley Eckhardt, Laura Somenzi and John Witty have been awarded the Mellon Graduate Fellowship in Object-Centered Curatorial Research for 2015. The expanded fellowship now includes the Carlos Museum as a full partner along with the High Museum.

An Jiang received the Martin Ostwald Fellowship from the Arete Foundation and will spend the 2015-16 academic year in Greece as a member of the American School of Classical Studies at Athens.

Elizabeth Pastan and co-author Stephen D. White have published The Bayeux Tapestry and Its Contexts: A Reassessment, Boydell & Brewer, 2014.