News + Events

Margaret Nagawa's peer-reviewed article, "Conveying the Mallet: Barkcloth Renewal and Connectedness in Fred Mutebi's Art Practice," has been published in Critical Interventions (volume 12, issue 3).

Alumnus Meghan Tierney 16PhD has accepted a tenure-track position at Ursinus College in Collegeville, PA. She will teach the art of the ancient Americas and Latin American Art, and contribute to Museum Studies classes and the Latin American Studies program as well.

Susan Elizabeth Gagliardi and Constantine Petridis of the Art Institute of Chicago have been awarded a Core Program Fellowship from The Camargo Foundation. The fellowship will support their work on Mapping Senufo in the spring of 2020. During the fellowship period, Gagliardi and Petridis will mine archives, analyze relevant documents, and write text for the project.

Susan Elizabeth Gagliardi and Lisa Lee have both been named fellows at The Clark Art Institute. The fellowship program enables scholars to pursue their research and participate in various institute events. While in residence at the Clark during the fall of 2019, Gagliardi will work on the collaborative, born-digital publication project, Mapping Senufo, she initiated and co-directs. Lee will be in residence during the spring of 2019 to develop a monograph analyzing the early work of Thomas Hirschhorn.

Elizabeth Pastan has been named a Senior Fellow at the Bill and Carol Fox Center for Humanistic Inquiry for the 2019-2020 academic year.

The catalogue for the LACMA exhibition, Found in Translation: Design in California and Mexico, 1915-1985, which includes an essay by Megan O’Neil, has been awarded the 2019 Alfred H. Barr Jr. Award from the College Art Association. The Alfred H. Barr Jr. Award is given for an especially distinguished catalogue in the history of art, published in the penultimate calendar year under the auspices of a museum, library, or collection.

Sarah McPhee and Renée Stein have been awarded $650,000 from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation as part of a $1,000,000 grant to continue the Mellon Graduate Fellowship in Object-Centered Curatorial Research. The grant will go to the Art History Department and the Michael C. Carlos Museum and support continued collaboration with the High Museum of Art.

Undergraduate Art History Degree Program Meeting

Professor Linda Merrill is hosting a meeting for current and potential undergraduate Art History major and minors to discuss exciting new additions to the program.  Learn about changes to the Art History degree requirements and the two new Art History concentrations in Museums and Visual Arts.

Please join us for pizza and conversation!

Tuesday, September 17, 2019
6:00pm – 8:00pm
Convocation Hall, Community Room (Room 210)

Please reply to Laurie Carter at

Art History Endowed Lecture

"The End of the Sixties: Kerry James Marshall's Mementos"

James Meyer
Curator of Art, 1945-1974
National Gallery of Art, Washington D.C.

Thursday, November 21, 2019
Ackerman Hall, Carlos Museum

Art History Endowed Colloquium

"The Art of the Return: The Sixties and Contemporary Culture"

James Meyer
Curator of Art, 1945-1974
National Gallery of Art, Washington D.C.

Friday, November 22, 2019
Carlos Hall Conference Room

For a complete list of news and events, please visit the News + Events section.