The Dorothy Fletcher Paper Prize

The Dorothy Fletcher Paper Prize is awarded annually to an outstanding research paper in the history of art.

Call for Submissions

Cover Sheet 2020

Who can compete?

Undergraduates of any year, in any major.

What kind of paper is eligible?

Research papers of approximately 10 pages, with citations and a bibliography, written for an art history course in the spring or fall semester of 2019.

How do I go about entering a paper into the competition?

Please send a copy of your paper and the completed cover sheet as email attachments to Dr. Merrill, who will submit it to the prize committee.

What is the deadline?

Friday, March 20, 2020, at 5pm

What is awarded?

A monetary prize--and, if the winner is a senior, recognition in the Commencement Program.

For more information, contact:

Dr. Linda Merrill, Director of Undergraduate Studies for Art History,, Carlos Hall 135

2020 Winners

First Place: Victoria Gu for “’Not Dead Yet’: A Case for Salutogenesis, Holistic Architecture & Healthcare Architects,” written for Dr. Crawford’s Four Walls and a Roof seminar

Second Place: Shayna Gutridge for “Female Bodies in Sacred Spaces: From Kore to Gyne through the Cult of Artemis at Brauron,” written for Dr. Wescoat’s Ancient Greek Sanctuaries course

Third Place: Rizky Etika receives third prize for “The Forest for the Trees: Analyzing Alciato’s Arbores,” written for Dr. Melion’s Emblems and Alba amicorum seminar.

Past Winners


Shared First Place: Olivia Chang and Parth Goyal


First Place: Adam Ring

Honorable Mention: Cecily Spindel


First Place: Ekaterina Koposova

Honorable Mention: Darby Caso


Shared First Place: Madeline Drace and Jenifer Norwalk


First Place: Yujun Yan

Second Place: Hannah Rose Blakeley


Shared First Place: Margaret Gregg and Daniel J. Majarwitz


First Place: Caitlin Ryan

Second Place: Peter Boudreau


First Place: Erin Dunn

Second Place: Rebecca Levitan

Honorable Mention: Wu Rui


First Place: Rebecca Pedersen


Shared First Place: Jen Levy and Marie-Helene Gagnon


First Place: Jen Levy

Second Place: Laura Daly


First Place: Joanna Levine

Second Place: Laura Michelson


First Place: Anne-Marie Gann


Shared First Place: Emily Bacher and Nicole Cridland


First Place: Peter Clericuzio

Second Place: Joshua Backer


Shared First Place: Peter Clericuzio and Plamena Milusheva


First Place: Tim Adams

Second Place: Scott Walter