Top of page
Skip to main content
Main content

Research Opportunities

The Marc Ernstoff Prize in Art History

Marc ErnstoffThe Marc Ernstoff Prize in Art History, a recent gift to the Department, supports undergraduate learning opportunites that foster connections between the visual arts and the sciences. Students may apply for funds to support such activities as summer work on excavations or in conservation labs; internship support; architectural training; or travel to exhibitions, museums, libraries, and archives to conduct research related to an independent study project or honors thesis. The Prize is intended to enhance a liberal arts education through experiences that reveal how studying art and architecture helps one understand the natural world and how science and art impact one another.

The deadline to apply for the 2021 Marc Ernstoff Prize will be announced shortly.

Eligibility: Art History majors and minors, History/Art History majors, and Architectural Studies minors in their first through third years.

Dr. Linda Merrill, Director of Undergraduate Studies for Art History.

Dorothy Fletcher Paper Prize

The Dorothy Fletcher Paper Prize is awarded annually to an outstanding research paper in the history of art.

Who can compete?

Undergraduates of any year, in any major.

What kind of paper is eligible?

Research papers of approximately 10 pages, with citations and a bibliography, written for an art history course in the spring or fall semester of 2020.

How do I go about entering a paper into the competition?

Please send a copy of your paper and the completed cover sheet as email attachments to Dr. Linda Merrill, who will submit it to the prize committee.

What is the deadline?

Friday, March 12, 2021, at 5pm.

What is awarded?

A monetary prize, and, if the winner is a senior, recognition in the Commencement Program.

For more information, contact:

Dr. Linda Merrill, Director of Undergraduate Studies for Art History.


“It is my pleasure to announce that we have two winners of the Dorothy Fletcher Paper Prize this year: Nick Pehrson for “Greenbelt, Maryland, as an Experiment in Socialism,” written for Christina Crawford’s Architect & the City; and Daniel Meek, for “Revisiting Winslow Homer’s Guardian Dyad,” written for Linda Merrill’s Winslow Homer seminar.”


First Place: Victoria Gu

Second Place: Shayna Gutridge

Third Place: Rizky Etika


Shared First Place: Olivia Chang and Parth Goyal


First Place: Adam Ring

Honorable Mention: Cecily Spindel


First Place: Ekaterina Koposova

Honorable Mention: Darby Caso


Shared First Place: Madeline Drace and Jenifer Norwalk


First Place: Yujun Yan

Second Place: Hannah Rose Blakeley


Shared First Place: Margaret Gregg and Daniel J. Majarwitz


First Place: Caitlin Ryan

Second Place: Peter Boudreau


First Place: Erin Dunn

Second Place: Rebecca Levitan

Honorable Mention: Wu Rui


First Place: Rebecca Pedersen


Shared First Place: Jen Levy and Marie-Helene Gagnon


First Place: Jen Levy

Second Place: Laura Daly


First Place: Joanna Levine

Second Place: Laura Michelson


First Place: Anne-Marie Gann


Shared First Place: Emily Bacher and Nicole Cridland


First Place: Peter Clericuzio

Second Place: Joshua Backer


Shared First Place: Peter Clericuzio and Plamena Milusheva


First Place: Tim Adams

Second Place: Scott Walter


There are many opportunities for Art History students to gain hands-on experience working in their areas of interest. Below are links to the internship requirements and lists of museums and galleries approved by the Art History Department.

Honors Program in Art History

Students admitted to the Honors Program in Art History write a substantial thesis under the direction of a faculty member. In addition, they participate in occasional writing workshops, take a graduate-level course, and present their topics to faculty and peers in a mid-year symposium. General requirements for admission to the program conform to ECAS guidelines.